Hello there!

I have met with a few of you already but for those that don’t know me yet, I thought I would put a few lines together to introduce myself.

So who am I?

I am the new research facilitator for the School of Clinical and Experimental Medicine. I am a tweeter (@DrCabreraSharp), blogger (drcabrerasharp.wordpress.com), scientist, lover all things equine, cyclist and runner; still striving for a 3:45 marathon!

What is my background?

I am new to both the city and the University having just made the move to Birmingham after undertaking two post-docs in reproductive endocrinology; firstly at Imperial College and then at the Royal Veterinary College. I am a qualified project manager (PRINCE2) with experience in grant writing and reviewing, research commercialization, development of courses and funding schemes. I have many years’ experience working with learned societies and undertaking public engagement activities to increase research impact.

What is my role as research facilitator?

Above all I hope to offer you support and guidance in your research bids. I aim to establish and maintain a network of contacts in order to provide dedicated support to ensure research capabilities are effectively identified, promoted and supported and to maintain oversight of the pre- and post-award processes.

I look forward to meeting and working with you all soon.

Victoria Cabrera-Sharp

